Quarter 1 Bellwork

Click here to download Bellwork sheet

Week One 6 August-10 August 2018

Monday 6 August 2018 In 3 COMPLETE sentences, write your expectations about this school year.
Tuesday 7 August 2018 On a scale of 1-5 [5 being very comfortable and 1 being very uncomfortable], How comfortable are you in understanding the Classroom guidelines and procedures? Explain [Response should be at least 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 8 August 2018 When you think of Puritans, what comes to mind? Write a description of Puritans-how you believe they are physically and socially. [Your response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 9 August 2018 What connotations [associations] do you make about Labor Day? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 10 August 2018 What distinct influences do you see of Puritans in today's society? [Name 3 and you must be specific]

 

Week Two 13 August-17 August 2018

 

Monday 13 August 2018 In your OWN words, define annotation. And what is the importance of annotating texts? [Response should be at least 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 14 August 2018 What are some persuasive techniques that authors can use for writing? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence; "I don't know is NOT a valid answer]
Wednesday 15 August 2018 Define ethos, pathos, and logos in your OWN words. [Response should be 3 complete sentences]
Thursday 16 August 2018 Define Context in your OWN words. What was the context of "Look Up" [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 17 August 2018 How effective are rhetorical appeals? Explain. [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Three 20 August-24 August 2018

 

Monday 20 August 2018 Based on Edwards' sermon, what can be inferred on how the Puritans viewed religion? [Response should be 2 complete sentences]
Tuesday 21 August 2018 What does CQC stand for? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Wednesday 22 August 2018 What three adjectives did you use to describe Puritanism? Why? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 23 August 2018 What Puritan elements do you see in the poem "Upon a fit of Sickness"? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 24 August 2018 How would you feel if you were a member in Edwards' congregation hearing his sermon? Why? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Four 27 August-31 August 2018

Monday 27 August 2018  Why would a minister wear a veil? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE Sentences]
Tuesday 28 August 2018 What could the veil be symbolic [representative] of? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 29 August 2018 Describe Mr. Hooper's physical appearance. What effect does that have on you as the reader? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 30 August 2018 Define metaphor, simile, and personification in your OWN words.
Friday 31 August 2018 What purpose does figurative language serve to "The Minister's Black Veil"? How is it accomplished? [Reponse should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Five 4 September-7 September 2018

 

Monday 3 September 2018 Labor Day-No School 
Tuesday 4 September 2018 What is predestination? [Refer to Puritan notes; Response should 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 5 September 2018 Of the three authors we've read, Bradstreet, Edwards, and Hawthorne, which one is your favorite and why? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 6 September 2018 What do you predict The Crucible will be about based on the title? Why? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 7 September 2018 Explain a modern day witch hunt. Remember a  modern "witch hunt" would be when people are wrongly accused [caused by paranoia]  or bashed for something that they believe in; think of something similar to Colin Kapernick refusing to stand for Anthem and getting bashed for it. [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Six 10 September-14 September 2018

Monday 10 September 2018 Which character do you think you're mostly like? Why? [Refer to The Crucible notes;Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences] 
Tuesday 11 September 2018 What do you predict will occur in Act 1 of The Crucible? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 12 September 2018 What is the difference between indirect and direct characterization? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 13 September 2018 How does Miller characterize Thomas Putnam? [Refer to page 1133-1134 for direct characterization; Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 14 September 2018 Summarize Act 1 of The Crucible. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Seven 17 September-21 September 2018

 

Monday 17 September 2018 What is your prediction of Act 2? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 18 September 2018 Which character do you believe will change the most when the play is over? Why? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 19 September 2018 How did viewing the visual representation of Act I help your understanding of the text? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 20 September 2018 How does Arthur Miller characterize Elizabeth? Cite evidence from the text-include page number after quote. [Response including evidence should be 4 COMPLETE sentences-Quote should only be one of the four sentences]
Friday 21 September 2018 What is the significance of the poppet? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Eight 24 September-28 September 2018

 

Monday 24 September 2018 Summarize Act 2 in your OWN words. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 25 September 2018 What do you predict the conflict will be centered around in Act 3? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 26 September 2018 What do you believe one of the themes is for The Crucible? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Thursday 27 September 2018 What is your prediction of how the play will end in Act 4? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 28 September 2018 Did The Crucible end as you predicted? Why? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Nine 1 October-5 October 2018

 

Monday 1 October 2018 Is Arthur Miller effective in criticizing McCarthyism? Why or Why not? What warning does he send to his audience? [Response should be 4 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 2 October 2018 If The Crucible is an allegory for freedom versus safety, what does John Proctorsymbolize freedom or safety? Defend your answer. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 3 October 2018 What is the importance of conducting Socratic Seminar? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Thursday 4 October 2018 Out of all the texts we've read, which one is your favorite? least favorite? Why? [Response should be 4 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 5 October 2018 How do you like doing socratic seminars? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]