Quarter 2 Bellwork

Click here to print off Bellwork paper when you've missed

 

Week One 15 October-19 October 2018

 

Monday 15 October 2018 How do you believe the ACT will prepare you for college/ career readiness? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences; "I don't know"; "It won't" are not valid answers]
Tuesday 16 October 2018 ACT [MUST be written for credit]
Wednesday 17 October 2018 How do you believe you scored on the Practice ACT yesterday and why? [Scores rang from 1-36; Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 18 October 2018 How do you plan to improve your English and Reading scores? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

Friday 19 October 2018 What is a possible theme of The Black Cat? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

 

Week Two 22 October-26 October 2018

 

Monday 22 October 2018 Have you ever experienced loneliness when grieving? How did you cope with it? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 23 October 2018 What is the possible theme of The Raven? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 24 October 2018 What could the raven represent? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 25 October 2018 What do you believe Midnight/December represent? Use textual evidence to support your answer. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 26 October 2018 What do you believe the Bust of pallas represents? Use textual evidence to support your answer. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Three 29 October-2 November 2018

 

Monday 29 October 2018 Think about a time you were sick. Were your loved ones affected by your sickness? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 30 October 2018 Characterize Usher using textual evidence. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 31 October 2018 Define the following in your OWN words: irony, foreshadowing, symbolism, and duality
Thursday 1 November 2018 Summarize The Fall of The House of Usher in your OWN words. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 2 November 2018 What is a theme of The Fall of The House of Usher? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

 

Week Four 5 November-9 November 2018

Monday 5 November 2018 Explain what a thesis statement does. [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 6 November 2018 What are the 3 parts of an Introduction paragraph? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Wednesday 7 November 2018 What is the importance of a bridge in an introduction paragraph? Why? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

Thursday 8 November 2018 Every body paragraph has to be in CQC format for this Poe essay. What does CQC stand for? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE Sentence]

Friday 9 November 2018 Why is it important to find evidence for your claim that is appropriate? [Refer to your notes from yesterday; Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]

 

 

Week Five 12 November-16 November 2018

 

Monday 12 November 2018 Veterans Day-No School
Tuesday 13 November 2018 Do all of your claims tie back to your thesis? How?  [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 14 November 2018 Does your conclusion paragraph have a restatement of the these, revisit of ideas in body, and has a "so what" statement at the end? Explain why or why not. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 15 November 2018 What brings value to your life? What do you consider truly important? Explain. [Response should be 4 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 16 November 2018 How do you believe Act 1 will end? Why? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Six 19 November-23 November 2018

 

Monday 19 November 2018 What is a possible theme for Our Town after completing Act 1? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 20 November 2018 What is your prediction of Act 2? [ Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 21 November 2018 Thanksgiving Break
Thursday 22 November 2018 Thanksgiving Break
Friday 23 November 2018 Thanksgiving Break

 

Week Seven 26 November -30 November 2018

 

Monday 26 November 2018 What do you predict will occur in Act 3 of Our Town? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 27 November 2018 One possible theme for Our town is "Appreciate what you have while you have it." In your life, what/who is something/someone that you take for granted? Why? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 28 November 2018 Due to the setting of Act III resembling a graveyard, how does it contribute to the tone of Act III? Cite textual evidence to support your answer. [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 29 November 2018 How does the theme of "Your community makes you who you are" develop the characters in Our Town? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

Friday 30 November 2018 What is something that you feel passionate about? Why? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

 

Week Eight 3 December-7 December 2018

 

Monday 3 December 2018 What is your scene about? Why did you choose the setting that you did? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 4 December 2018 Does a lottery always have to involve money? Why or Why not? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 5 December 2018 After reading "The Lottery" yesterday, what was ironic about it's title? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 6 December 2018 Based on the content of the text, what do you think  the word Interlopers means? Why? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 7 December 2018 What do you believe the author is stating about the theme of Interlopers?  Cite textual evidence to support your answer. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Nine 10 December-14 December 2018

Monday 10 December 2018 Review TPCASTT. What does the acronym stand for? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Tuesday 11 December 2018 Was your prediction of The Mending Wall accurate? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Wednesday 12 December 2018 What is the theme of Mending Wall?  Cite textual evidence to support your answer. [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 13 December 2018 What is the common theme of Our Town, "Interlopers", and Mending Wall? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 14 December 2018