Limited Time Offer: Get 2 Months of ABCmouse.com for only $5!

Quarter 4 Bellwork

Click HERE to print Bellwork paper when Absent

 

Week One 18 March-22 March 2019

 

Monday 18 March 2019 What do you believe Realism is? Explain. [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 19 March 2019 What do you think the theme of "An Ocurrence at Owl Creek Bridge is"? Cite textual evidence to support your answer. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 20 March 2019 Discuss 1 example of foreshadowing in "An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge"/ Provide the textual example and why this helps the plot. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 21 March 2019 What are 3 points that Lincoln and Lee present that are similar? Explain.[Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 22 March 2019 Which side of the Civil War would your be on and why? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

 

Week Two 25 March-29 March 2019

Monday 25 March 2019 How important is going to the school of your dreams for you? How do you plan to prepare to be accepted? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 26 March 2019 What are the four types of passages on the Reading portion of the ACT? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Wednesday 27 March 2019 How many questions are on the ACT English test and about how many are on sentence structure? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Thursday 28 March 2019 Which of your four schools was the best for you and why? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 29 March 2019 What did you gain from doing the College Research project? Explain. [Saying you gained nothing or anything negative will result in 0%; Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Three 1 April-5 April 2019

Monday 1 April 2019 The English test on the ACT is half grammar. How do you plan to prepare for the English portion on tomorrow's ACT? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 2 April 2019 ACT DAY
Wednesday 3 April 2019 What are the three types of irony? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Thursday 4 April 2019 What is the significance of the title "Story of an Hour"? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 5 April 2019 Feminism is advocating that women's rights are equal to men. What elements of feminism do you see in "The Story of An Hour"? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Four 8 April-12 April 2019

Monday 8 April 2019 What do you predict will occur in the short story "Desiree's Baby"? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 9 April 2019 Summarize Desiree's Baby. [Response should be in 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 10 April 2019 What is the possible theme of Desiree's Baby? Paraphrase from the text to support. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE Sentences]
Thursday 11 April 2019 How would you feel if you lived during the slavery era and were considered a slave? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 12 April 2019 Slaves were viewed as property. Do you think that any human should be owned as property? Why or Why not? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Five 15 April-19 April 2019

Monday 15 April 2019 After reading Chapter 1, How important is it to know your mother and father to you? Will not knowing or knowing affect your life? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 16 April 2019 Chapter 2 dealt with spirituals. How does music have an effect on your mood? Provide an example. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 17 April 2019 What is an allusion? [Response should be 1 COMPLETE sentence]
Thursday 18 April 2019 How similar were slaves viewed/treated as animals? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE SENTENCES]
Friday 19 April 2019 Good Friday-NO SCHOOL!

 

Week Six 22 April-26 April 2019

Monday 22 April 2019 What does injustice mean to you? Provide an example from modern day society. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 23 April 2019 How important is being able to read and write to you? How if you feel if you were denied the right to learn to read and write? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 24 April 2019 One theme of Frederick Douglass' narrative is Ignorance is a tool of slavery. Provide an example that shows this theme. [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 25 April 2019 Have you witnessed ignorance in society? Did you speak out or stand against it? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

Friday 26 April 2019 After reading Frederick Douglass’ narrative, in what ways does America represent the hope for freedom that lived in the heart of Frederick Douglass? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Week Seven 29 April- 3 May 2019

 

Monday 29 April 2019 Douglass uses several arguments against slavery in his narrative. Do you believe he was effective in his arguments? Why or why not? [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Tuesday 30 April 2019 Reflecting on Douglass' narrative, what insights on life and slavery did you take away from reading? ["I don't know" or I didn't take away anything is not valid answers; Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Wednesday 1 May 2019 If you were born a slave would you be rebellious or content? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Thursday 2 May 2019 Why is it important for people to know their history? Like slavery or the Holocaust? Explain. [Response should be 3 COMPLETE sentences]
Friday 3 May 2019 What do you know about the 1920s? [Response should be 2 COMPLETE sentences]

 

Get 2 Months for $5!