Spring 2020 I was Absent, What did I miss?

 

 

Week One 6 January-10 January 2020

Monday 6 January 2020 Intro to Classicism/Rhetroic Review Notes Part 1

Classicism Notes

Tuesday 7 January 2020 Intro to Classicism/Rhetoric Review Notes Continued[See Monday for notes if needed]

Paraphrase of Patrick Henry

1.With a partner (if you wish), read and PARAPHRASE EACH OF THE 7 PARAGRAPHS into your own, simplified words. 
1.Mr. President…Kings
2.Mr. President…for it.
3.I have but….resort.
4.I ask … forging.
5.And what … us!
6.They tell … it come!
7.It is … death!
2.Define all words (see below).

You MUST look up the following words:

1)Ceremony
2)Awful (not meaning bad!)
3)Moment (not having to do with time!)
4)Apt
5)Siren (Greek mythology – not noise maker)
6)Arduous
7)Solace
8)Insidious
9)Snare (noun)
10)Comport
11)Reconciliation
12)Subjugation
13)Supplication
14)Beseech
15)Remonstrated
16)Irresolution
17)Extenuate
3.Explain WHICH OF THE THREE APPEALS is most used in this speech – Ethos? Pathos? Logos? Why is this appeal used so much? How do you know?

 

Wednesday 8 January 2020Patrick Henry Paraphrase Assignment continues [See Tuesday for instructions]

Speech in Virginia Convention full text

Example paraphrase for Paragraph 1

Paragraph 1 paraphrase example

Thursday 9 January 2020 Rhetorical Devices Patrick Henry Speech Part 1
Friday 10 January 2020 Rhetorical Devices Patrick Henry Speech Part 2

 

Week Two 13 January-17 January 2020

 

Monday 13 January 2020 Thomas Paine

Annotation [See Instructions below

 

 

1st   Highlight blue=logos;

yellow=ethos; green=pathos; Underline

 important points, ideas you may want to go back 

to,the main idea or ideas; Circle any word that is unfamiliar; 

Put a ? Next to any part that is unclear; Every

highlight, underline and circle should have a

label and comment in the margin

Thomas Paine Questions

 
Tuesday 14 January 2020 Thomas Paine Questions
Wednesday 15 January 2020 Thomas Paine Questions

Thursday 16 January 2020 Paine/Henry Test

Friday 17 January 2020-Half Day

 

Week Three 20 January-24 January 2020

Date Assignment    
Monday 20 January 2020 No School MLK DAY    
Tuesday 21 January 2020

Bellwork-Write 4 English ACT rules on index card [Example-Avoid redundancy]

Read Ben Franklin's Speech page 105

-Summarize the text in 25 words or less

-Cite, label, and explain 5 rhetorical devices

 

   
Wednesday 22 January 2020
Open your book to page 105; Read Ben Franklin’s speech summarize in 25 words or less
Then take notes on his rhetorical devices he uses-Cite, label, explain at least 5  [diction, metaphor, simile, allusion, repetition, parallelism, rhetorical questions, hyperbole, etc.]
Note the rhetorical appeals [ethos, pathos, logos] that Franklin creates [actually cite them; then write the author’s purpose; then the effectiveness of all (3-4 sentences)] See chart-must be in chart form [below]
Answer the Questions throughout the text and on page 107
 
 
   

Appeal

Textual Evidence

Author’s Purpose [What is Franklin’s goal here?]

Effectiveness

Pathos

 

 

 

Ethos

 

 

 

Logos

 

 

 

Thursday 23 January 2020

Read the Declaration of Independence on page 112 of online text book or see below

Declaration of Independence page 1

Declaration of Independence Page 2

Declaration of Independence Page 3

Declaration of Independence page 4

Declaration of Independence Questions

 

   
Friday 24 January 2020

Read Signers of the D.O.I. and Answer the Questions

Signers of Declaration text and Questions

   

 

Week Four 27 January-31 January 2020

Monday 27 January 2020

Read Shirley Chisholm's speech

Read Shirley Chisholm's speech-read this first

Chisholm Assignment

Tuesday 28 January 2020 Mental Health Day-Grieving one of our own
Wednesday 29 January 2020  
Thursday 30 January 2020

Read King's speech and answer the questions

King Speech and Questions

Friday 31 January 2020 Persuasive speech topics/Begin working on Speeches

 

Week Five 3 February-7 February 2020

Date Assignment
Monday 3 February 2020 Persuasive speech workshop
Tuesday 4 February 2020 Persuasive speech workshop Day 3
Wednesday 5 February 2020 Peer Review and revision of speech
Thursday 6 February 2020 Speech Deliveries
Friday 7 Febru Speech Deliveries and self-reflection

 

Week Six 10 February-14 February 2020

Date Assignment
Monday 10 February 2020 2020-2021 Senior Year Course Selection
Tuesday 11 February 2020 2020-2021 Senior Year Course Selection/Shut the door speech
Wednesday 12 February 2020

Shut the door speech Day 2- note ethos, pathos, logos and 2 other rhetorical devices [CITE/LABEL/EXPLAIN]

Shut the Door full text and questions

Thursday 13 February 2020

3rd Annual Speech Competition in auditorium

Observation of peers-test grade

If Absent-you MUST observe a speech [Famous] and write a one page reflection send via Google Docs to mrsjjonesenglishclass@gmail.com by Friday 21 February 2020

Friday 14 February 2020 Half Day

 

Week Seven 17 February-21 February 2020

Date Assignment
Monday 17 February 2020 Presidents' Day-No School
Tuesday 18 February 2020

Senior Year Guidance Questions

Mrs. Aldridge

Wednesday 19 February 2020

 Transcendentalism Cornell Notes

Summary after notes of 3-4 sentences

4 thought-provoking possible test questions in the margin

Click here for Transcendentalism Notes

Thursday 20 February 2020

Emerson Essays and Questions with partner

Emerson Essay Questions

Friday 21 February 2020 Emerson Essays and Questions with partner

 

Week Eight 24 February-28 February 2020

Date Assignment
Monday 24 February 2020 Day 3 of Emerson Essay Questions with partner
Tuesday 25 February 2020 Day 4 and turning in of Emerson Essay Questions
Wednesday 26 February 2020

Emerson Essay Notes

Click here to access Emerson Essay Notes

Thursday 27 February 2020

Black History Program Assignment-Alternative-look up African Americans and voting, the Voting Act of 1965 and the 26th Amendment.

Write a 1 page reflection of what you found out on voting

Self-Reliance Essay Response[ Instructions on last slide of Emerson Essay Notes-1 full page]

Friday 28 February 2020

"From Where I lived" Questions

Click here to access the Question

 

Week Nine 2 March-6 March 2020

Date Assignment
Monday 2 March 2020

 Conclusion Questions

Click here to access text and questions

Tuesday 3 March 2020

Conclusion Questions

Start of Thoreau Notes

Click here to access Thoreau Notes

Wednesday 4 March 2020 Completion of Conclusion Questions
Thursday 5 March 2020

Thoreau Notes/Review Day

Click here to access Emerson Notes

Click here to access Thoreau notes

 

Friday 6 March 2020 Open Note Emerson/Thoreau Test

 

Week Ten 9 March-13 March 2020

Date Assignment
Monday 9 March 2020  
Tuesday 10 March 2020  
Wednesday 11 March 2020  
Thursday 12 March 2020  
Friday 13 March 2020